Skip to content

Live Wire – Make Everyday Mothers’ Day by Arleen Yoshimura

June 2, 2012

“LIVEWIRE”     By:  Arleen Yoshimura

     Forgive this belated “Happy Mothers’ Day !!!”.  I couldn’t let this Special Day go by without acknowledging Mothers everywhere…living or who have passed on.

   Everyone should celebrate Mother’s Day because everyone is a Mother (biological, adoptive/hanai, foster, friend) or has one or more Mother(s).

   This was a very painful Mothers’ Day for me because I lost both my Mother and my Mother-in-law during the same year.  As I placed flowers at the Cemetery for my Mom and at the Columbarium for my Mother-in-Law, I couldn’t help but feel an urgency to let people who have Mothers still living know how fortunate they are and to ask them to please show them gratitude no matter how difficult the circumstances may be.  

   Those who are caring for elderly Mothers may find it especially hard to appreciate their Moms at times, but remember…From cradle through life and back to the cradle…that is the “Cycle of Life”.

   Father’s Day is on June 17th so “Happy Fathers’ Day !!!” to Dads everywhere and let’s all celebrate this Special Occasion.

   Make Every Day a Happy Day !!!  Celebrate Life !!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. J.N permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:09 am

    Thank you Arleen for taking the time to reminds us to always cherish our mothers, fathers too.

  2. Jo Ann Iwane permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:23 am

    i, too, lost my mother last year so mother’s day has become a somewhat difficult day for me, too, arleen. however, i am internally grateful for the wonderful legacy of love, caring, and generosity my mom left to all of us who knew and loved her so dearly. her spirit and memory lives on in our family! we miss her physical presence but we know that her spirit is still very much with us every day!

  3. June 3, 2012 11:31 am

    Thanks, Arlene for the touching tribute to mothers. Sorry to hear about your loss. Marty and I are still very happy in Kona.

  4. Arleen permalink
    June 3, 2012 4:56 pm

    Thank You from the Heart J.N., Jo Ann, & Patti for Your kind words about my recent Live Wire tribute to Mothers.
    Sincerest Gratitude to all who read my column and especially to those (even strangers) who have come up to thank me or taken the time to e-mail or even mail me a note of thanks w/ encouragement that I continue. It gives me a “natural high” !!!
    There have been many moments when I wonder if it’s time to quit because I write from the Heart just about such simple things in life. I am truly humbled to receive this kind of responses.
    The late Ellen Watanabe the originator of our HSTA-R Newsletter provided me with this opportunity to write a column, and our President Wayne “Big Dog” Joseph has been especially inspirational & encouraging even posting this article on our website.
    My sincerest appreciation to both Ellen and Wayne for believing in me and to all of You who read my Live Wire articles. With Warmest Aloha, Arleen

Leave a Reply

