Skip to content

Merry Christmas – Happy Holidays, President’s Message

December 24, 2011
Wayne & Randee Joseph

President’s Message – December 2011

What an amazing year this has been for the Hawaii Island District Retirees of the Hawaii State Teachers Association.

For me the biggest highlight came when we, as retired teachers, stood up to our current Governor and held an information demonstration against him.

A huge part of my decision to run for and become your current HSTA-R president is that I am an activist who is not afraid to share my views if it benefits the members of this union.

But as we all know, it takes more than one person to get things done and standing tall, with me, have been my Council and our retirees.

Members of our Council also held our first Meet and Greet at the Zoo to welcome our new retirees and reunite others in a social atmosphere. 

Hats off to the members of our Hawaii District Council for their many hours of preparation and dedication in making our District retirees one of the most active forces in the State (in my humble opinion).  I am proud of who we are and where we are headed.  I extend Kudos to all of you for a job well done.

Keeping that in mind, every member should know that all the Council seats will be up for election in our February Luncheon and Annual Membership meeting.  If any of you have the time, the motivation and the dedication that it takes then please step forward and add your name.

Adding to our positive public visibility are the great tee shirts that we so proudly wear.   It lets everyone know that we are proud Retired Teachers.  

Next on our list is the making of hats that will display the Big Island logo and in bold letters has H S T A – R for all to see.   I will let you know when those become available for sale.

With the holidays upon us my family and I would like to extend our heartfelt Season Greetings and a Healthy 2012.

As I get older I start to truly appreciating the gift of good health and feel blessed for each day that I can run or walk.   Having good health, friends and family and people in life that fills us with love is what I wish for all of all for 2012.

One Comment leave one →
  1. J.N permalink
    December 24, 2011 4:41 pm

    My Sincere wishes to you & your family as well Mr. President.
    You continue to do a wonderful job serving as our leader.
    I can not wait for the hats to come in.
    Hopefully it will keep the sun out of our eyes and not the rain!

    Mahalo for all you do.
    J.N

Leave a Reply

