Skip to content

Introducing Council Member Lois Shimizu

February 1, 2010

Lois Shimizu

   Lois Shimizu graduated from the University of Hawaii at Manoa majoring in special education.  Her first teaching assignment was at Waiakea Elementary School for four years until being staff reduced.  Shimizu then went to Keaau Elementary & Intermediate where she continued to teach special education students (terminology have changed over the years) in the elementary grades then moved up to the intermediate grades.  

    Ten years later Shimizu transferred to Waiakeawaena Elementary of which her last four years there were teaching preschoolers with special needs.  

   “After my short-of 28 years of challenging and rewarding years in teaching, I took an early retirement in 2005 to care for my mother,” she said

    “Retirement is wonderful!    I continue to spend time with my mom, and the rest of my leisure days are spent volunteering at a school, visiting my children in Honolulu, Kona, and Seattle and stopping at Curves when I feel like it,” she said.

   “During my early years in teaching, I was a bit active with HSTA.  Now that I’m retired, I thought it would be nice to get back into it.  It’s like I’m completing my circle.  By being involved with HSTA-R, I get information that affects retirees, get involved with community services , and I enjoy connecting with other teacher retirees,” Shimizu said.

    Shimizu has also become active with HIRTA and RSVP.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

